Skip Navigation

Berwyn Clayton

The Berwyn Clayton Award for Distinguished Service to AVETRA has been instituted as a way of recognising the exemplary and distinguished service of nominated AVETRA members who have through their endeavours worked towards improving AVETRA’s status as Australia’s peak association for VET researchers.

Berwyn Clayton


This on-going award is funded by AVETRA and is offered on a bi-annual basis. Applications are sought in February for award in odd years. The award will be presented at the AVETRA Conference. Eligibility: All nominees must be current AVETRA members.

Previous Awardees

2017 Claire Rasmussen, Federation University

2015 Sarojni Choy, Griffith University

2013 Hugh Guthrie

2012 Erica Smith

2010 Kevin Heys (TAFE NSW)

2008 Peter Kell (University of Wollongong)

2006 Karen Whittingham (TAFE NSW)


Criteria for award for the Berwyn Clayton Award for Distinguished Service to AVETRA can be found in the Nomination Form. AVETRA reserves the right not to make an award if none of the applications received meets the criteria for award. Download the Nomination Form here